MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 02-12-2003, 08:00 PM   #1
manatee91
Registered Member

Default 1970 Mach l, been sitting 15 years. Carb is shot. There is a lot of work to be done

I'm not interested in the mint condition restoration. I just want to enjoy it asap! The carb needs replacing. What are the pros and cons on replacing the stock 4V or just getting an aluminum intake with a holley. This is my first time here. I haven't worked on a Ford engine in a long time! I used to have a 69 and a 70 back in the days and could work on them with my eyes closed. Now, since parts are so expensive I'm looking for the easiest and best way out!

Thanks!
manatee91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 11:12 AM   #2
thunderbolt
Registered Member

Well, here is my take. First question is what engine do you have and how much do you want to keep it. I personally like the newer aluminum intakes, less weight, better design. If you have a 351W or a FE and want to do much more, I am a big fan of the edelbrock kits with heads, intake, cam, etc... You are more limited with the 351C. Aftermarket carb wise you will probably find as many different opinions as people willing to offer them. How about a rebuild of the stock carb? My experience is that stock carbs tend to be less picky and tempermental compared to aftermarket carbs. But of course, aftermarket carbs have more potential and tunability. So if hastle free driving is what you want, I would go stock carb or something like an Q-jet. (In trouble already, my opinion only). For more tunability go edelbrock, and if you want to tinker and tune for best performance, go holley.