MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 11-07-2003, 04:38 PM   #1
d-ceroin
Registered Member

Default Bone-stock or modified??

I am looking at a 65-68 fastback and cant decide on something that has not been modified/chopped up/etc and is pretty much the way it came from the factory, or getting something that has had engine mods, suspension upgrades and all that done to it.If I do go with a car that is pretty much stock,and I do want to upgrade some components(4 whl disc brakes, engine upgrades) is ther a particular year/engine combo I should be looking for?I am new at this and would appreciate any suggestions.
d-ceroin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 06:20 PM   #2
mustangII460
Factoy Five Roadster

65-66 you are pretty much limited to a small block.

67-up a big block fits no problem. Or small block with lotsa room.

Get something modded. Unless your going to show a car and that car is worth keeping bone stock, chop the bejezus out of it.

I think if your looking to drive the car, cruise etc. It should be made safe. That would mean updating brakes, suspention etc to have a safe car. Suc's to have a car with a hot motor and drum brakes.

Welcome to MustangWorks.
mustangII460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 12:19 AM   #3
whiteblue302
Registered Member

It's all personal preference. Like mustangII said, and the way I look at it is, the only reason to keep it original is as a collectors car or show car. I'd get bored and frustrated real quick with the old technology. A modded car will perform better and be a whole lot more fun to drive, not to mention work on. Keep in mind that stock with new brakes, and just a few engine components isn't stock anymore and turns into "lightly modified" which is probably the least fun/valuable of anything.
Good luck!