MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 01-05-2002, 10:49 AM   #1
diablopony
Registered Member

Question Brake Light won't go out

I had a leaky rear drum brake cylinder that caused the brake warning light to come on. I replaced the cylinder and bled all the brakes, but the light won't turn off.

Any ideas on why bleeding didn't reset the pressure differential valve to center and how to fix this?
Old 01-05-2002, 11:38 AM   #2
Kisner
Registered Member

Have same problem with my 68 which I haven't got around to fixing since I'm not a mechanic. I do have original shop manual which states something to the affect that you have to remove either the inlet or outlet port on the differential valve opposite to the one bled last and pump the brakes to reset it to the center position. I can get the exact words and instructions from the shop manual if you'd like.
Kisner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2002, 11:50 AM   #3
Kisner
Registered Member

Went ahead and dug out shop manual. Here's exactly what it states:
"Centralizing the Pressure Differential Valve...to centralize and turn off warning light, a pressure differential or unbalance condition must be created in the opposite brake system from the one that was repaired and bled last. Turn ignition to ACC or ON position. Loosen differential valve assemply brake tube nut at the outlet port on the opposite side of the brake system that was repaired and/or bled last. Depress the brake pedal slowly to build line pressure until the pressure differential valve is moved to a centralized position and the brake warning light goes out; then, immediately tighten the outlet port tube nut to the specified torque. Check fluid level and fill to within 1/4 inch of the top. Turn ignition switch to OFF."