MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 06-19-2003, 07:10 PM   #1
gavidoc
Registered Member

Default Newbie Question about Disc Brakes

Hi Folks!

This is my first time here and I gotta tell you, it's great!

Just what I've been looking for.

I've got a question for you all.

I recently purchased a 67 Standard Fastback with a 6cyl in it and 4 bolt pattern drum brakes.

I also got in the same deal a 67 Deluxe Coupe with a 289 5 bolt but drum brakes.

I was wondering the following:

I've got hte chance to pick up some mid 70's Pinto Disc Brakes (rotors, calipers but no spindles) and was wondering if htey would work on a 67.

I'm new to this and any help is appreciated.

I do know that the Pintos are interchangeable with a Mustang II and that you can put wheel cylinders and pads from a 71 Mustang on a 74 and up Pinto.
gavidoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 02:16 AM   #2
rbohm
Registered Member

Cool

some pinto/Mll rotors use the same wheel bearings as the 67 mustang, but you have some problems;
1: the wheel bolt patterns are not the same. the 67 uses a 4x4.5 bolt pattern and the pinto uses a 4x4.25 bolt pattern.
2: you have no caliper mount, nor any provision for one. the 67 mustang used the same 4 piston caliper the 65-66 stangs did, and if you used that caliper mount the pads would half off the rotor.
3: you can use pinto/Mll spindles, but the steering geometry would be screwed up as the pinto spindles are a front steer spindle and the 67 is a rear steer spindle.

if you want disc brakes use the 70 up brakes from a granada, torino, monarch, maverick, comet, montego. also grab an 8" rear froma granada or maverick so you can add 5 bolt wheels to the rear as well.
by a band who died in a plane crash.

fordsix.com admin
rbohm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 03:37 PM   #3
gavidoc
Registered Member