MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 08-19-2007, 03:38 PM   #1
Blue68Coupe
68 Coupe 289

Default Engine running hot

So my 289 started running hot all of a sudden. I know it's been hot here but the temp gauge never moved near half let alone 3/4. I have a high flow 180 degree thermostat. I tested it on the stove and it opened right where it was suppose to.

So I took off the radiator cap and ran the engine. I did not see the radiator empty when it opened. Actually I noticed when I rev the engine the flow increases inside the radiator. That tells me is open but It tested fine.

The engine is newly rebuilt but the radiator is original. I am wondering if the radiator is not cooling it enough so the thermostat never gets cool enough coolant to close. I am leaning toward replacing the radiator.

Anyone have any thoughts on it?
Old 08-19-2007, 05:53 PM   #2
Gearhead999
Registered Member

Default Re: Engine running hot

You could just replace it or take it out and send it to a local radiator shop and have them check it for restriction.

Dave
1968 Cougar
2004 Thunderbird
2007 F150 Harley-Davidson, SuperCrew
1986 LTD
1997 Ranger
1992 Honda Civic
Gearhead999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 08:18 AM   #3
88ponyboy3
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue68Coupe View Post
So my 289 started running hot all of a sudden. I know it's been hot here but the temp gauge never moved near half let alone 3/4. I have a high flow 180 degree thermostat. I tested it on the stove and it opened right where it was suppose to.

So I took off the radiator cap and ran the engine. I did not see the radiator empty when it opened. Actually I noticed when I rev the engine the flow increases inside the radiator. That tells me is open but It tested fine.