MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 08-09-1999, 01:05 PM   #1
Midnite Wrider
Registered Member

Post Kick down linkage

Exactly how does the kick down linkage work? Does the linkage regulate the amount of fuel the carburetor delivers to the engine as well as down shift the transmission. (when you go past half throttle) Or does it just act to down shift the transmission?

I have a 68 w/ 289 and C4 it’s a daily driver with a new tranny. I want to have this linkage set up properly but, I have had considerable trouble hooking one up. I have had several people look at it and you would think I was asking them to decipher hieroglyphics or something. Maybe I just haven’t asked the right people.

Anyway I have taken matters into my own hands now. I am pretty new to all this and anyone’s help would be greatly appreciated.

I went to a salvage yard and got the kick down rod off of an old Mercury Marquee with a 302. I studied how this linkage was hooked up (not to complex) and figured I could work something out for my car. I got home and something didn’t make sense I have a Holly 600 carburetor and there doesn’t seem to be any sign of something that I should hook the rod up to. I am thinking that I don’t have the proper carb. for this application. Is this true? I was looking in a catalog and they had a Holley 600 that had the Ford A/T kick down there were others that didn’t. Is this my only hope. I have some numbers that were on the front and side of my carb. and I would like to find out what exactly this carb. is. If I don’t have the right carb. I am not really looking forward to springing for a new one, but I am curious as to what my options are. Exactly how important is this whole kick down linkage anyway? Will my tranny life be affected of I don’t hook this up.