MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 01-01-2004, 06:03 AM   #1
KiltedBanshees93GT
Registered Member

Default Making the most of what I've got

The reason for this question is that the other night I got into it with a Nissan SUV, and barely held my own. (Granted , when things started I was already too high in the power band)
Anyway, my question is why doesent the car make more power (seat of the pants pull. She doesent even brake traction i.e. spin from a stop) Is there something flawed with my combo? Or does the car just need tuning? (she does have a new carb, which I'm still learning. The old one was way rich, but she could chirp second w/ the shift kit the new one is a lot smoother, but no chirp)
Currently she has a holley 4160 vac secondary (if anything tuned a bit lean), 66 shelby Hi rise manifold (too much of a high RPM manifold for the app?) Unknown heads, possibly stock and hooker tri-y's. This is on a 289 w/ about 60k miles.
What areas should I focus on to make more streetable power?
Also, is there any way other than via the eardrum to see what my cars preferred rpm is? She seems to have some good pull on top, but the 3 speed drags it back down, and I dont want to risk blowing my motor or tranny trying to pull it up high.

Thanks,
J

P.s. the tranny is a c-4 w/ shift kit, and the rear is a 3.25 posi. (looking to go for a 3.73ish ratio in the future)
I can't wait until I get a t-5 into her......
Rice Haters Club Member #239

"I find your lack of faith...disturbing."

"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats." H. L. Mencken
KiltedBanshees93GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 04:18 PM   #2
rwhite65
Ride Hard

Default ur combo

I do not see anything wrong with it, just needs more attention to certain areas (IMO).