MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 10-29-2000, 06:29 AM   #1
BaZ
Registered Member

Question Mustang Newbie

Hi all!,

Since about a year or 2 now, I'm totally crazy about the Mustang 65 coupe. Right now I found some nice looking (at least for the untrained eye ) mustang '65 coupe's. I'm not a trained mechanic, but I really want to learn, so I thought: with a mustang that is in reasonable shape, some help, and this really great site, I should be able maintain a Stang... I have to start somewhere. So what are the important things to look at when you're buying a 65 pony?? Also I would like your opinion as pro's, if it's a good idea to start out this way. I live in The Netherlands, and we don't have those nice mechanic clubs you have in the States that I hear about.
I hope you can give me some advice,

TIA,
Bastiaan

Old 10-29-2000, 12:39 PM   #2
66fastback
Registered Member

Welcome. You certainly sound enthusiastic.

The best advice I can give you on looking at an old Mustang is to crawl under it and look for rust. Check around the wheel wells--especially at the outside lip, and check the floor pans. These old cars have a bad problem with the cowl area leaking(those vents right in front of the windshield). This allows water to run into the car, drip on your feet, and rust out the floor pan.

Another problem on cars this age is the electrical system. Avoid cars with lots of wire splices, maybe the owner knew what he was doing...maybe not. Either way it is a sign of trouble.

Other than that, it's about the same as looking for any other car. Look for signs that the car has been in a wreck. Check tires for uneven wear.