MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 09-25-2003, 12:35 PM   #1
J_E_S_B69
Registered Member

Question Supercharging decisions.......

Would a smaller engine with a centrifugal blower tweaked to produce mid 500's Horsepower be better or worse than a bigger engine with a centrifugal blower not tweaked?

Considering price, front to rear weight ratio, and having to repair more often and such.

I have a 67' mustang coupe and want to have a pretty mean street machine, but I don't know which way I should go about it. Any help would be appreciated greatly. Thanks
J_E_S_B69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2003, 06:13 PM   #2
whiteblue302
Registered Member

Well I'm no expert on the matter, but it seems to me that trying to produce a whole lot of HP with a smaller engine is most likely going to wear it out a lot quick than a larger engine. I would imagine it would be cheaper to go with a larger engine, maybe a 351 or a 347 and have it supercharged, then to really have to soup up a smaller block. I think the rule of thumb for superchargers is roughly 10hp per 1 pound of boost. The added displacement from a larger engine would probably make up that horsepower easier than what it would take for the extra psi in a smaller one. Like I said, no expert, but that's what makes sense to me.
How small of a block were you figuring? 500hp wouldn't be too easy a number to make even from a 351 (running roughly 12psi, you would still need 380hp from the motor)
whiteblue302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 02:48 AM   #3
rwhite65
Ride Hard

Default 500 horsepower

the smaller engine is going to have to work harder to put out the same numbers as the larger displacement engine. But that is not to say that you could not get the 302 to push 500 horsepower with a supercharger of some kind....it has been done before.