MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 09-02-2000, 09:31 PM   #1
Moses 6
Registered Member

Question Water inside

Recently bought a 66 hardtop in great condition. Shortly after the purchase we had a rain storm. That is when I discovered that water had enter into the car on the drivers side. In searching for the leak I discovered that water entered in through the vents in front of the windshield and flowed down through the fresh air vent on the driver side. I am new to Mustangs but pretty sure this is not right. I am at a lost as to the fix. I have not found any manuels on the fix. Can anyone help? Thanks

------------------
Moses 6
Moses 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2000, 10:39 PM   #2
Ron1
Registered Member

Pretty standard for the earlier Muastangs. There are several options. Replace the entire cowl section (around $2500 if a body shop does it) or buy a kit that looks like a couple of top hats and some hardware. You will have to remove the vent tube that is above the parking brake, and remove the heater. Then apply a sealant to the upper brim of the "top hat" insert it into the opening, , and let it set up overnight. I used a cut 2x4 to hold it in place. Then replace the air duct, and reinstall the heater. It is a temporary fix, but works very well if done right. Companies like Ca. Mustangs, or Nat'l Parts depot I am sure sell the kits.

If you need more detail drop me an e-mail at rfedd@aol.com

Ron
Ron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2000, 06:50 AM   #3
Gearhead999
Registered Member

Sure does sound like the cowel vents are leaking.

It is an expensive fix. Try the plastic hats and good luck.
Gearhead999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2000, 02:43 PM   #4
Stefan
Registered Member

Cool