MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Racing > Racer's Club House
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 03-11-2005, 09:40 PM   #1
84LX89GT
Mustangs

Lightbulb Getting Sponsored...how???

I plan on doing alot of racing this year at a local track in their "sportsman" (slow) bracket. My question is how do you go about getting sponsored. Even if i can't get sponsored with the car i have currently, what do i need to do in order to be able to take advantage of sponsorship.
I'm going to bracket race my Crown Vic this year at a local track. The track has a sponsor for each lane and i see cars all the time with sponsorship decals on them. I don't plan on doing NHRA brackets, just the track's "performance corner" points racing for that track (pacific raceways in Kent, Washington). I know the big dogs racing in the NHRA big events usually have sponsors, but i'm just starting out and think it would be fun to learn how to get into this.
-any insight about how you guys got into racing or got sponsored would help alot.
-thanks,

1980 Ford Thunderbird - 255 V8
ported heads, 5.0L ported stock headers, O.R. H-pipe and Flowmaster 2-chambers, dual roller timing chain
hi-po Mack Truck hood emblem

1985 Mustang GT 5.0L T5, F-303, GT40p, headers, off-road h, flowmasters, MSD stuff, etc.

Sold 02/06/04
1989 Mustang GT ET: 13.304@102.29 mph (5-24-03)

Sold - 1998 Mustang Cobra coupe, 1/4 mile - street tires: 13.843@103.41 (bone stock)
84LX89GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 08:08 AM   #2
Jeff Chambers

Default Re: Getting Sponsored...how???

It takes a ton of work to secure good sponsorship, especially if you're running in a national series like Fun Ford, NMRA, IHRA, etc. For your local bracket racing, you're likely to only find someone local who is willing to sponsor you since your exposure is going to be limited to the local crowd.