MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 02-12-2003, 10:38 AM   #1
98GTBlkConv
Registered Member

Question Stock 1998 GT Convertible Upgrades

Hello! I am a new user of this forum, and am, in fact,new to message boards all together. Anyway, if I come off as a newbie, I appologize in advance.

Last fall I purchased a 1998 GT Convertible (only 22k miles). I would like to keep the car relatively stock, but would like to gain some performance from it. I do not intend to take it to the strip, but would like some more hp. I have added a Flowmaster American Thunder Series exhaust, and a K&N intake system to it. I have heard many conflicting opinions on underdrive pulleys, but most seem to think they do not truly increase hp. Additionally, I have considered a chip, but since the car is 5-speed, have heard there is not much of a power gain. Any suggestions that aren't too "radical" would be greatly appreciated.

By the way, I am in need of some new, good tires and would appreciate suggesions. I consider good tires important and would rather pay more for good rubber than skimp.

Thanks!
98GTBlkConv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 01:04 PM   #2
95mustanggt
Registered Member

Get a set of 3.73 rear gears. That will really wake the car up!

Not much you can do with the engine, without spending some money. I have under drive pulley's on my 95 GT and I noticed a difference for sure.

Gears, go with Gears.

20016 F150 Lariat Super Crew
95mustanggt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 03:44 PM   #3
EC98GTcnvrtble
Registered Member

Cool