MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 10-26-2003, 08:36 PM   #1
Rusty12
Registered Member

Default Is your Oil Pressure Guage Real?

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the Mustang scene; having bought a 1998 GT Convertible back in March of this year. I'm a Ford man from quite a ways back...a '63 1/2 Galaxie Fastback was my second car...

I have always had a fair amount of respect for Ford Products and I like the 'Stang and all...but I can't help but notice that the oil pressure guage **NEVER** moves! On start-up it flicks up just past mid-scale...right over the "M" in Normal that'printd on the guage face. Then; it just **SITS THERE**...at idle...at 80 MPH...hot or cold...it never seems to budge. I've become convinced that it's essentially an idiot light sender wired to a guage pointer...and not really a guage.

Is mine different from yours or what?

Thanks for reading...Rusty12
Rusty12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 08:55 PM   #2
xxxBlakexxx
Registered Member

Rusty12:

I can't answer your question, but I might be able to help. I have never trusted these things except that they should move up when the car is running.

Look at a past Thread that I started called "How to turn your odometer into a digital tach." Read all the replys and go to the link that is mentioned. If you follow these instructions, I believe you can get the odometer display to show you a digital readout of oil pressure (among other things).

There is one catch. I know this works on 2000 and newer cars. I don't know about your model year.

Hope this helps!

My Stang: