MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Website Community > Stang Stories
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 03-02-2001, 02:21 AM   #1
thebean311
Registered Member

Post Racing Strategies for Newbies

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie to this board, and to fast cars as well. I have a stock 2000GT that I use as my daily driver, and have yet to do any real racing. I've raced some rice posers in the past, which were so pathetic that even my lack of skills didn't matter.

I was wondering if you guys could give me and the other newbies out there some pointers for racing. What are your guys' techniques for launch, what are your techiniques for shifting (what rpm do you hit, do you powershift, etc). What exactly is powershifting? What are the possible ways to damage your car by launching/shifting in a particular way? Any other pointers that you could give would be very much appreciated!

Ben
thebean311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2001, 02:42 AM   #2
fastang
Registered Member

OK ,your car makes its power at higher RPM than a 5.0 so shift it close to 6 grand. Powershifing is shiting fast without taking your foot off the gas, if your quick enough you should be able to do this before you hit the rev limiter. Try doing it in second for a while until you get used to it. 3rd is hard so hold the clutch down a little longer than usual and dont be afraid of breaking something, when you worry about breaking something you end up releasing the clutch before its totaly in gear and blowing your trans. Powershifting helps keep you in your powerband, for instance when you shift from 1-2 without powershifting your rpms might drop to 2800, if you powershift it might stay at 3800 which keeps you in your powerband, get it? Good luck and practice constantly.

------------------