MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Small Ponies
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 03-27-2002, 12:22 PM   #1
Shirley Ransome
Registered Member

Default What can I do to my Gold Pony

Hello Everyone

What can I do to my Gold and Black 2000 V6 Mustang, as far as, modifying it? Also, is there a way, where I can make the car sound better, when I gun the motor, when it starts, sitting at a light, like roar maybe. Any suggestions would be much appreciated, as I am new to this. I have had my car for 2 years now and want to make it purr!!!! I just love her. This is my first mustang....I am in love with this car!

Shirley
Shirley Ransome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2002, 12:43 AM   #2
84LX89GT
Mustangs

You're lucky there's a whole bunch of options to modify your car. You name it, you can do it. Just ask questions according to what you want.

Now to make your car sound better, there are exhaust systems that you can buy that convert it from a single exhaust pipe to dual exhaust pipes with larger piping and freer flowing mufflers, etc. The advantage of this is 1. The sound is deeper and loudness depends on the muffler you get and if or how many catalytic converters there is in the exhaust (stock on your car i believe has 3, 2 before when they come together and 1 right after they join). this will give you the roar sound you want
and 2. you'll get better gas mileage and more power because the engine isn't trying to push the exhaust out, instead it's pulling itself out (i won't discuss exhaust scavenging or temperature/pressure waves...little too complicated for a beginner)
There are kits to convert your car to GT/Cobra exhaust which sounds nice and is fairly quiet. But if you want your car to roar a really popular exhaust manufacturer is Flowmaster. You can find flowmaster at http://www.flowmastermufflers.com/web10/indexf5.html