MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 04-25-2002, 07:42 AM   #1
Rice Hunter
Registered Member

Question Blown Cobra (from street racers corner)

I am in the final stages of getting my 99 Cobra supercharged. In that, I mean, I have finally pulled the money together. I decided to go with a Vortch supercharger that claims to be able to boost up to 490HP with the aftercooler. Sure this is $6000 without cost of install, but hey, when you want to do something, do it right. Right? (Maybe I should start off with 430-450HP?)
I'm putting on a Borla cat-back also. Anything I absolutely need to not blow myself up? I seem to talk about this stuff a lot, but know only a fraction of what I should. I'm still learning. Any hints?? I have not mods yet on the car, and have gotten the impression that supercharging isn't the best first step. But it is now or never for the supercharger due to time constraints.

Oh yeah, I want to put the Cobra R windsplitter front facia on after I supercharge. Does anyone know the cost of installation and painting of stuff like that, on average??

P.S. I put this post up and got some good feed back in the street racers corner, but was also referred here. They said you guys are the ones to talk to!

453.9rwhp
387trq
Lots of fun
Convertible

Penn State University
Temple University School of Medicine (start August 27th )
Rice Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2002, 08:22 AM   #2
91LX2Bfast
Registered Member

Well, a lot of people would do basic bolt on's first such as bigger MAF, H or Xpipe, throttle body, gears, shifter, etc, to maximize the supercharged engine's power output and power curve.