MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 05-30-2001, 03:34 AM   #1
bpusser1
Registered Member

Question Mustang vs. Mustang GT

Hello,
I am a Mustang rookie. Please tell me the difference between a Mustang and a Mustang GT? Thanks.
bpusser1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 12:10 PM   #2
thunderbolt
Registered Member

I assume you are talking about the old mustangs and sure you will get lots of good info here, but let me start it off. The GT was a package that could be ordered much like todays mustang. I know most about 66 so I will talk about them. GT package meant you got either the A code 225 hp 289 or the K code 271 hp 289. GT package came with heavy duty suspension components and disc front brakes. There were also trim items to distinguish the two apart. Different gas cap, deletion of rocker mouldings, mustang spelled out on the side in individual letters, different grille insert. Fog lamps, and some more goodies I am sure to be forgetting. If you are intersted in buying a GT, find someone who knows GT's and take them with you to buy it. Several people have tried to make GT's out of non GT cars for the premium they bring. These cars are seldom done to a level that includes all GT components and are relatively easy to spot a fakes by knowledgable people.
thunderbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 01:09 PM   #3
Mercury
The Redneck James Bond

I dont think there were any supsension diffrences between the standard V8 first generation Mustang, and the First Generation GT.

Well, I must admit I'm not that sure about 66, I'm more fimiliar with 65 and earlier, but my knowledge on first gen's is pretty good.