MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Website Community > Blue Oval Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 10-10-2005, 09:45 PM   #1
MLMike25
Registered Member

Default Dumb noob strikes AGAIN! This time, not as dumb...

I'm a car novice. How can I tell if my exhaust is "cat back" or not?

Last edited by MLMike25; 10-14-2005 at 08:33 AM..
MLMike25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 10:54 PM   #2
Orange97GTVert
Mustang Fanatic

Default Re: Dumb noob question

"Catback" is a muffler and tailpipe system, it replaces the entire exhaust system from the flanges behind the catalytic converters. I can tell from the picture that the mufflers are not stock, but that is all. The stock tailpipes have a flattened area just behind the rear wheels. The aftermarket tailpipes are usually mandrel bent and are smooth all the way to the tips, or have stainless tips welded in.

Ford Polished tailpipes usually have a flat edge at the top of the tip, where the aftermarket ones are usually just cut at the angle. Hard to explain unless you really look. The aftermarket ones usually have more polished shine than the stock Ford tips.

You can usually tell if you have a catback if the tailpipes and mufflers look the same age. A lot of people just replace the mufflers at a muffler shop and keep the stock tailpipes.

Hope this helps! Welcome aboard

1997 Mustang GT Convertible, 4.6L Auto, Autumn Orange w/Saddle Tan Top & Leather Interior, Styling Bar, 17 X 9 Polished Cobra R's on Nitto NT 555's, Ford Racing Bullitt Suspension package, Mac CAI, Steeda UDP's, Flowmaster 40 Series Catback, SCT X-Calibrator II, Zaino Shine, 7 time Show Winner, driven daily
Orange97GTVert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 02:27 PM   #3
Mr 5 0
Conservative Individualist

Smile Re: Dumb noob question