MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 11-22-2002, 05:55 PM   #1
JasonC302
Registered Member

Default Tranny Problem - Synchros, Clutch, or...?

I am a total amateur when it comes to manual trannies, so please bear with me.

Recently, my stock 89 GT has developed issues shifting. Basically, on random gears and at random times, I will not be able to get the shifter in gear. When this happens it usually takes 2 or 3 tries to get it in properly. There is NO audible grinding occuring, the shifter is just blocked from going into gear. It occurs I'd say around 30% of the time, from 1st - 4th. Sometimes I can run through the gears just fine. Other times they all give me an issue. 5th is the only gear that doesn't seem to give me a problem. It also happens when I'm sitting perfectly still with the engine running at idle and I shift through the gears to test it out.

I know that my clutch cable has been out of adjustment for a while. I need to push the pedal almost all of the way to the floor to get it to engage. The auto adjuster is long dead. Could it just be further out of adjustment than usual, or might I have a synchro issue?

Thanks for the help!
JasonC302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2002, 06:07 PM   #2
Agent_4573
Registered Member

bad synchros are normally given away by the going half-way into gear, grinding a little, then going the rest of the way into gear. It should like your clutch is going bad from what you describe.
'89 LX 5.0, off-road h pipe, flowmaster muffs, underdrive pulleys, rebuilt WC T-5, King Cobra Clutch, 65mm throttle body, Explorer Upper/GT40 lower, Lakewood Rear Lift Bars. 76mm C&L Mass air w/ inlet pipe, Twisted wedge heads w/ stage 2 port,polish, MAC equal length shorties, Billet AFPR, 255LPH fuel pump, fresh low end w/ 10.5:1 compression.