MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums

MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums (http://forums.mustangworks.com/index.php)
-   Modular Madness (http://forums.mustangworks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   98 GT auto tranny (http://forums.mustangworks.com/showthread.php?t=47671)

loco_nid 01-09-2006 07:57 PM

98 GT auto tranny

Alright, I'm no mechanic but I'm 99% sure it's the transmission. The car was giving to me from a cousin. It's been sitting for a year and I started it up for the first time yesterday. The engine sounds good, but there are no gears. He said when he parked it, all it had was reverse.
So I looked up the transmission for it and it said 98 only.
No other years fit? How hard is it going to be to find another one? Should I buy used or new? Any feedback would be appreciated.

bigwhitecobra 01-09-2006 08:23 PM

Re: 98 GT auto tranny

New, always new. I would also look for a 4R70W. All years fit, but the 98 is a bastard year for these cars for some unGodly reason.

loco_nid 01-09-2006 08:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigwhitecobra
New, always new. I would also look for a 4R70W. All years fit, but the 98 is a bastard year for these cars for some unGodly reason.

So how much is a new trans going to run me?
All years fit? Like 94 and up? Just has to be a GT Auto? I'm guessing some of the mounts might have to be changed?

bigwhitecobra 01-10-2006 10:54 AM