MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 01-07-2002, 12:56 AM   #1
Coupe Devil

Default I need to know about cams.

Ok I am tired of not know what you guys are talking about when a cam question is rasied, Someone please explain duration and lift. Also what is the difference in sold lift and hydralci lift? I know this is a dumb question but I am still learning all this stuff.

Thanks
Brad

Built Ford Tough Moderator
Coupe Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2002, 01:47 AM   #2
Unit 5302
Registered Member

Lift: The lift given is generally listed with the rocker ratio included. Rockers have a ratio of like 1.6:1 or 1.7:1 which increases the cam lift. Most cams are rated with 1.6:1 rockers for the Mustang.

Duration: 224*/224*@.500 means the exhaust valve is open for 224* of rotation at .500 lift. @.500 is the most common duration measurement cited. There is also say 282*/282* which would be overall duration.

Split Duration: means the intake duration and exhuast duration is different. Since most Ford heads are a little weak on the exhaust port, getting a split duration cam can make up for that by favoring the exhaust side. IE 220*/224*@.500

LSA: Lobe seperation angle. A wider lobe seperation angle indicates you'll retain more cylinder pressure. The smaller the lobe seperation angle, the less vacuum and cylinder pressure then engine will have.

Now, how they work.

If you have a long duration camshaft, the additional time the valves are open will increase the flow efficiently, but because of the greater duration, they will generally have a small LSA and when you get too big (at that point you'll have a race engine) the car won't want to idle and you'll have very poor vacuum forcing you to drop power brakes, etc.