MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 10-13-2002, 02:55 AM   #1
Chris2000GTvert
Registered Member

Default Did I permanently hurt my car?

I was out tonight kinda driving my car hard and I'm new to stick, and to the car. I've had it for 3 weeks, its a 2000 gt convertible 5 speed.

I was driving hard on an empty road just to practice going through the gears, and when I finished revving through 2nd I by mistake slammed the shifter back into first, and released the clutch. My car thumped a bunch of times, I push ed the clutch back in, and drove off the the shoulder to see if everything was ok. I drove the car around fine the remainder of the night, I'm just worried because theoretically I was probably at like 8k rpm when I released in first gear, after just about redlining 2nd.

Did I permanently hurt the car you think? Or am I just lucky it didn't explode, and I'm fine now. In deeper discussion of the issue, a friend was telling me that I'm probably fine because our cars have low redlines, and that this would only be really really bad in a car like an s2000, or celica gts with high redline because car would be at theoretically 10k + if this happened. Let me know, thanks everyone.

-Chris
Chris2000GTvert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2002, 04:09 AM   #2
mustangII460
Factoy Five Roadster

Welcome to Mustangworks.

And no I doubt you hurt it. Id say you hit the rev limiter, bucking the car.

Shifting wise, if it still shifts ok, that too should be good.
Old 10-13-2002, 09:39 AM   #3
GodStang
College Stanger

Welcome to Mustang works.

I agree with mustangII. You have a rev limiter. It keeps you from blowing your engine. Also the 4.6L are pretty darn strong. You are most likly good.
Old 10-13-2002, 10:07 PM   #4
The Deuce
Registered Member