MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 06-03-2001, 11:21 PM   #1
98 BLK CONVT GT
Registered Member

Question Head Swap Help Again (46Stang)

When changing out 98 heads for 99 and up I would like to try it myself but I have limited mechanical knowledge, do the cams come with the heads and is there any other modifications that need to be made. I live in the Bay Area and no one will put the heads on for $800, do you know of shops in your area that can complete the job. Travel is not a problem. Since you work at a dealership any help or inside tips you may have would be terrific.

Thanks
Dave

------------------
98 Blk Conv GT
Bassani X-Pipe, 70mm T.B.
Cold Air Induc.
98 BLK CONVT GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2001, 11:42 PM   #2
Mercury
The Redneck James Bond

Cool

No offense meant by this Blk 98 GT, but since you say you have only moderate mechanical experience, it would be best to leave it to someone who knows the mod motors a better. They can be finiky beasts to work on. Getting the timing on the cams correct is real crucial with the mod motors, and can be a BIG pain.

As for the cams coming with the heads, I'd put money on saying that they dont come with them. If you got some more money to toss around, opt for a set of Sean Hyland cams.

I'm not sure how much stock cams cost but I bet it aint pretty. Have you thought about junk yard scavenging in your area?

One other thing I'll throw in, I wouldnt deck the heads any. Over head cam engines dont like having heads shaved, especially V type ovehead cam engines.

------------------