MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 04-30-2002, 07:10 AM   #1
Bret Ledford
Registered Member

Default Hypertech Power Module. Any Good?

Has anyone used the Hypertech Power Module and is it worth $220? Hypertech wants $360 but Autozone has them for $220. I have searched for tech articles and tests but have found nothing on "Plug in's". If these aren't worth the money what mod would make a real "seat of the pants" difference for around $250? I have a Mac X-Pipe, Flowmasters, and a K&N Filter, other than that it is stock. Thanks for the reply.
Old 04-30-2002, 09:36 AM   #2
whiterod
Registered Member

bret i have one for my car and when it was completely stock it seems that it made it more responsive, but that was before i knew how to do things like advance ignition timing and so on. So if you don't want to ever lift the hood of your car then i say they make a small difference but if you want to get your hands a little dirty then you can easily out do the chip. I believe a MM&FF article did a dyno test on the hypertech powermodule and it gave them an increase of about 5.5 hp & 6 ft-lbs of torque. I still have my powermodule i will sell for $50 or so, if you still want it. It is for a 91 aod, i took it out several years ago.
GT-40X(58cc)heads, cobra upper&lower, FMS 65mm TB, 75mm Bullet, 24# injectors, 190 lph fuel pump, moroso cold air intake, BBK 1 5/8 equal length headers, flowmaster cat back, 1.7 cobra rockers, crane 2031, T5Z gear box, centerforce dual friction, mcleod bullet proof bellhousing, 3.55 gears, hurst billet shifter with over 193,000 miles. thanks to all who contributed
whiterod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2002, 10:24 AM   #3
Bret Ledford
Registered Member

Default Thanks Whiterod