MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 10-20-2005, 02:42 AM   #1
Capri306

Default Choosing pistons to complement GT40P heads

Hey all. It's been a while since I've actually started a thread here in the Windsor Power Forum, but it feels good to be back in the motor-building mood.

To the chase: I'm rebuilding the near-200k-mile engine in my '87 Notchback. It's old, tired, and has some rod knock. Not content to settle for a stock rebuild, I'm looking to maximize its potential, but within my limited budget (I'm a college student).

This rebuild will consist of my block punched over 0.030-in., GT40P heads (completely stock, no alterations), Explorer/GT40 upper & lower intake manifold(s), Dynomax or MAC headers, some variant of CompCam, with my 'personally tweaked' AOD backing it up. Okay, nothing in there too special, but that's what I'm working with.

The car already has 3.73 gears, Mass-air conversion, E303 (which will go away), an aluminum driveshaft, MSD 6 box, 65mm TB, 2200-stall converter (this too might go away), huge-ass radiator, underdrive pullies, off-road H-pipe (w/ tabs), Dynomax equal lengths, Flowmasters....you get the idea. All it could pull was 14.3's, but at least it was consistent. Biggest mistake was the mismatch in cam and torque converter.