MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 09-09-2002, 08:21 PM   #1
SadieAnn
Registered Member

Default New female owner

Hi.....what a great site...I have been wandering around since buying my second mustang. It is my pride and joy, a 2002 Mustang GT. I know the basics about cars and can change my own oil, but I would like to take the next step and modify my car. I have been given a lot of advice but not a lot of explanation. I have been told everything from filters to gears to superchargers. This is my regular car and I do not intend to ever take it to a track. However, I am challenged quite a bit and would like to hold my own. I am an excellent driver and have track experience but have no knowledge. I want to understand why Im doing what I am doing and intend on developing this passion. I am sure no one likes to be taken advantage of, but I am particularly vulnerable.

Any help on helping me become informed would be greatly appreciated. I have read the books on my engine but without any real exposure they can be difficult to understand.
SadieAnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 08:30 PM   #2
The Deuce
Registered Member

The first thing you should do is ride down to Kragen and get a K&N air filter. No need for a fancy intake, the stock one works fine. The filter will flow more air, making it easier to breathe. More air in=bigger combustion(more power).

Second, getting gears will help your acceleration off the line. You didn't mention if the car is a 5-speed or auto, so I can't say which ratio would be best off hand. The bigger the number (3.73 for instane) the better the car will be off the line.