MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 06-16-2002, 08:18 PM   #1
apenn

Default Drag Tire/Wheel Advice Please

I'd like advice on a recommended rear tire/wheel package for drag racing. I want DOT tires as I'll be driving to and from the track. Being that I'm a novice racer, the cheaper the better as I'm still learning and I'll have plenty of opportunity to upgrade later (if anyone want to sell me rear wheels which will fit my 2000 GT please make me an offer I can't refuse!). Discount Tire and The TireRack had OEM GT wheels (16x7.5) for about $80 each and I was thinking of putting the BF GoodRich Comp TA Drag radials on them. I was told I could fit 255/50's on these wheels. Total price was $430 for wheels and rims. Any thoughts on this combo? Also, anyone please give me their experiences with buy rear drag wheels and tires. Thanks!
Old 06-16-2002, 11:04 PM   #2
Torinalth
Registered Member

get an 18" rim with atleast a 9" wide tire. go with a toyo proxie TS-1 for the rear. this will give you hardcore grip. it will cost a bit, but if you are getting drag rears then do it right. dont spend cash needlessly.

Torinalth
Old 06-17-2002, 09:35 PM   #3
project2OOOGT
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Torinalth
get an 18" rim with atleast a 9" wide tire. go with a toyo proxie TS-1 for the rear. this will give you hardcore grip. it will cost a bit, but if you are getting drag rears then do it right. dont spend cash needlessly.

Torinalth