MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 08-09-2002, 05:15 PM   #1
96_4.6
Registered Member

Exclamation All H-pipe users PLEASE READ

To all H-pipe users I just have a common question, do you ever get scared when driving cause its illegal, well in most states anyways, i live in michigan where its illegal but we dont have emission testing but i'm still scared to get one, all your input is greatly thanked so THANKS!!!

-Trickflow Upper Plenum
-BBK 70mm Throttlebody
-02 PI Lower Intake
-March Pulleys
-BBK H-Pipe
-2 Chamber Flowmaster mufflers
-3000 RPM Stall
-JLT CAI with special K&N
-MSD Supercondutor wires
-180 stat
-FRPP 4:10's
*FOR SALE C&L TRUE FLOW INLET PIPE WITH K&N*
My Stang
96_4.6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2002, 05:38 PM   #2
Mustang92
Drag Racer!

I've been driving with "illegal" offroad pipes on my cars for 10 years now. I've also been pulled over a good 30 times over that time period and until last Thursday have never had a problem with it. My car is not exactly quiet either, most cops ask me about it and compliment me on it...as they write the ticket. But never harass me about checking for emissions.

However I have come across an extremely pissed off LS1 State Trooper that is on a mission to get me put in jail for it. He's threatened me that he will pull me over the next time he see's my car on the road and will look for cats and if I don't have them it's a second degree misdemeanor. That includes up to 60 days in jail, getting arrested and up to a $250 fine. Due to my profession that would kill my future career so with that in mind I'm putting fake cats on (welding the cat and shield on my O/R pipe) so it visually has emissions. This temporary fix is for the next few months till the car comes off the road and is no longer my daily driver.