MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Modular Madness
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 01-28-2003, 03:41 PM   #1
snisbet375
Registered Member

Default 4.6 or 5.0 which is better?

I'm new to this post and to mustangs. I just got a 1996 Gt mustang. I want to turn it into a serious street car, with options of going to local track to beat on some imports. The car is stock but the flowmaster mufflers now. I know of a bunch of bolt on things you can do to the 4.6 engines. But there is so much more for the 5.0 engines. I am a basic mechanic and have knowledge only of the basic traditional engines like the 5.0. Is it an easy swap from 4.6 to 5.0? Will the computers have to be switched out. And what other things will I need to change for swap? Will the T45 trans fit up to a 5.0? The 5.0 engines are much cheaper to build up to the specs i am looking for (high revs high tourqe). And parts are much easier to come by. Has anyone tried this before. Or should i stick with the 4.6 mod engine? Any input on what people think is better 4.6 or 5.0 would be helpful.
thanks
steve
snisbet375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 05:51 PM   #2
Dark_5.0
Registered Member

If you are staying Naturaly aspirated go with the 5.0. If you are going with a power adder go with the 4.6.
Dark_5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 06:45 PM   #3
Mustang92
Drag Racer!

The T-45 won't match up the 5.0 you'll need a T-5 or upgrade to a TKO or 3550 if you plan on making big power. For the swap you are pretty much going to need everything from EEC to wiring harness, two different motors with two different EEC's running them. As for being cheaper you are right, same thing for parts there are just too many of them around.

Bill
11.97 @ 113.20
M/M 100, 7085

www.uprproducts.com
www.ponyexpressperformance.com
www.modulardepot.com
Mustang92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 08:11 PM   #4