MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 06-21-2001, 03:16 PM   #1
MidniteWrider
Registered Member

Question Springs???

My car is backwards... it sits high in the front and low in the back. To correct this I have just bought new front lowering springs and new rear leaf springs. I have already orderd them, and I was considering putting them in myself. With the proper tools, is this something I should try doing myself. I am mecanically inclined, but I am no mechanic. I have worked a little bit on my cars in the past replaceing mechanical stuff but nothing too major. I am just trying to save some money and learn more about my car. I plan on buying a few more stangs and I want to be able to do as much as possible myself, within reason, I realize some things are better left up to the pros. I am a little worried about doing the front springs, I know I need a spring compressor I see that NPD now sells one for $25. Are there any other special tools required? Can anyone offer any do's or dont's and or/oprinons about this process.
Thanks,
Jim

------------------
68 Hardtop
Formerly a 6 now a slightly built 289 w/C4.
My first of hopefully many Mustangs.
MidniteWrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2001, 03:24 PM   #2
Fostang
Registered Member

It's pretty straigh forward. No other special tools. A ratchet some 9/16 and 1/2 inch sockets a 9/16 wrench and the compressor should be all that you need. You might want to change the coil spring perch and insulator while your at it. As for the lift springs doing one side at a time is recomendable. Make sure that the spring lines up with the bolt on the rear end housing. Thats about it have fun and be careful while the car is lifted.

------------------