MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 02-19-2007, 02:45 AM   #1
chriscklam
Registered Member

Default 1966 Mustang NEW project Questions

Hello all, i am new to mustangs and the forums and am hoping to learn a lot from all of you veterans. I just purchased my first Mustang, a 1966 convertible 3 speed manual car. I want to restore the car to a very clean driver. There is no rust on the car and the motor was rebuilt already. I believe the original color was blue but it has been repainted to a gold. I want to repaint the car and redo the entire interior. I need lots of tips on doing this. What is the correct way to repaint/prep the car for repainting? Do the fenders NEED to come off? What color combo looks the best in everyones opinions. The car has a white interior now that was originally blue and i was leaning towards repainting the car either blue or red. The car has a white top. The car was not originally a pony car but i wanted to add the pony interior and shifter console ect. How much would this run me and where would i get the supplies from? Any reasonable places to order all of my parts? I'm sure i will have plenty more questions to come but here are a few. Thanks for all of your help in advance!--Chris
chriscklam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 09:21 PM   #2
chriscklam
Registered Member

Default Re: 1966 Mustang NEW project Questions

bump.....anyone have ANY tips on the restoration? I was planning on doing the undercarriage and engine compartment before i repainted the car. Anybody know what the correct way to restore these two are and what paint is used (brand+color). Any tips would help as i am completely new to mustangs. Thanks.
chriscklam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 02:34 PM   #3
DeltaMustang65
Knuckle-Basher