MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Power Adders
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 03-06-2004, 12:00 PM   #1
xxxBlakexxx
Registered Member

Default NO2 Questions from a beginner

Guys:

I have no experience with N02. But, I am thinking I would like to give it a try. My car needs to be kept as a daily driver, but I like the fact that with N02 you can get the added power when you really want it.

If I go with it, I want it to be completely safe and do it right! I am thinking about a 75 or 100 boost max...or even 50 or 75.

1 - I hear the dry kits are the safest. Is this true? What system would you recomend?

2 - What would be my total investment?

3 - Can someone with modest mechanical abilities install a system?

4 - What other upgrades do I need to support the added power? I assume, none really based on info I have been reading as long as I keep my boost reasonable.

5 - Is my chip junk with N02 (course, it may be anyway)? Do I need a custom program with N02? Doesn't my timing have to be changed?

6 - I know I need to go with "colder" spark plugs. How are these plugs affected with normal driving?

7 - How much quicker would the car be? 1/4 mile, trap speed, and 0 - 60? Any ideas? Can N02 be used for a little boost on the highway for passing power?

I am sorry for all the dumb questions, but I have to start somewhere. I keep reading articles by experts who swear NO2 is completely safe if done correctly and you stay within the limits.

Thanks!

My Stang:
2000 Mustang GT Vert - Steeda Tri-Ax Shifter; C&L Plenum; BBK 75 mm TB; Steeda Strut Tower Supports; Black "Deep Dish" Bullet Wheels; FRPP 4.10's; Steeda Subframes; SLP Catback & SLP Catted X-Pipe; SCT 4 Position Chip with 3 custom tunes; Steeda CAI; Venom-1000 Nitrous; Roush Stage 3 Body Kit; Bullet Suspension Package (on the way)
xxxBlakexxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2004, 02:39 AM   #2
04S/CStallion