MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 08-10-2001, 10:26 AM   #1
Erik
Registered Member

Post 289 Bolt-On recommendations and help

Hello,

I am a novice mechanic and basically know how the parts of the engine work. I don't plan on rushing my setup and plan to do every mod myself. Please help me find good quality parts for my 289.

I have a mainly stock 289 with a Holley 600cfm carb and an original Ford 4bbl intake. The engine has 30k miles on the rebuild.

I plan on pulling the Holley and replacing it with an Edelbrock 600cfm (just cause I hear Edelbrock holds the tuning longer). I'm also thinking about replacing the intake with an Edelbrock as well. Is replacing it a good idea or just stick with the stock 4bbl intake manifold?

Next I plan on replacing the exhaust manifold. I've read up on Hooker, JBA Shorty, and Edelbrock. I'm kinda favoring Hooker and Edelbrock just cause it goes all the way down. If you can recommend a better one that would be great. I'll finish the exhaust off with either some glass packs or flowmasters

Going down the list... I plan to buy a modified cylinder head set. I "was" favoring Trick Flow for a while, but when I read up that the stock pistons weren't going to clear the valves on their heads I decided to keep on looking. I've been looking into Edelbrock heads and I think they have a setup to where I can keep my stock pistons. If there are some better heads out there where I can keep my stock pistons, please let me know.

For the camshaft, I'm not exactly sure what to get. There are so many out there, it's hard to choose. I just want one where it won't push the valves into the pistons.

Same goes for the distributor and ignition systems. Not sure in that category as well. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.