MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 01-13-2001, 02:36 AM   #1
93SVTstang
Registered Member

Post timing advance

I am looking to advance the timing on my Cobra. Somebody told me I should go to 14 degrees advance, is it possible to go higher, like 16 degrees or so? I have a friend who is going to help me with it, since I have never done it before. How far can I go without it detonating? Also, will I notice an increase in hp from this? Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks Beau

------------------
93SVTstang-93 Cobra: 80mm MAF, K&N, 8mm plug wires, shorty headers, off road h-pipe, Borla Cat-back, centerforce clutch, hurst shifter, 3:55s
93SVTstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2001, 07:01 AM   #2
bcinyuz
Registered Member

To tell you the truth you cant get the best of both world by just advancing your base timming. Because by advancing your base timming your creating a couple of thing. 1-you get a quicker start off the line but you suffer at high rpms. 2-you run the risk of your engine pinging or pre-detonation. If your going to do it anyway my advice to you is to bump the timming 2 degrees until you hear your engine ping then back off 2 degrees. Hope this helps you out.

[This message has been edited by bcinyuz (edited 01-13-2001).]
bcinyuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2001, 10:51 AM   #3
88GT5.013.02

What's up 93SVTstang? I am the one who told you to bump the timing to 14 degrees. I just put out a number that would be safe on your car. My stock car took 17-18 degrees of timing, but I think that was due to a little slop in the timing chain.