MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 11-22-2007, 08:47 AM   #1
GrassAssasin
Registered Member

Lightbulb Advice on a 1990 GT purchase.

Hi, I sold my 5.0 Coupe, which a really regret by the way, so I have not been on this site in a couple years. I am sure this info is asked all the time but I could not find it, so I apoloze. As I said I had a 1990 LX Coupe 5.0 so I basically know what to look for but I am not that experienced. I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on what to check while looking at the car. This is the posting of the car
1990 FORD MUSTANG GT, 302 auto, ac, new pearl paint, reblt motor & trans, 70 mm mass airflow, shift kit, 2500 stall converter, Shorty headers, etc, $3500 in receipts, and he is asking only 3,2000 .
It is an older man who does not seem to know what he has. His neghibor owed him money and then got called to Iraq so he gave him that so I know I can get a good price becasuse he really needs to sell it. THe pictures look like it is perfect just about. THe AC does not work but he has a brand new Compressor in the box , it just needs to be installed, which I can do. So any advice as to what I should check out I would appreciate it.

He said he has receipts for everything and what mechanics did what work on it. The car has I think 15k on the enging 169K on the car and about 12k on the AOD.
I dont know if there is any specific problems to check out on a GT that are different on an LX also. I do realize that is the holidays but I know the car will go quick. So if someone Could get back to me as soon as possible i would great appreciate it.

Lastly is there any way to look up a car fax without the VIN because I was trying to not call him during Thanksgiving day but I will if I have to. THanks folks

Wayne
GrassAssasin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 12:58 PM   #2
Dark_5.0