MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 10-22-2002, 10:09 PM   #1
stangirl92
Registered Member

Default 68 engine rebuild

hello all,
My dad gave me his 68 coupe and i have started to yank all the parts out and i am down to pulling out the engine. However, i am very new at all this and i would like to know what i should say to a machine shop or whoever i take it to to have the rebuild so i wont sound like a dumb girl. lol. I want the 289 to be all original as my father bought it. any replies would be appreciated. Oh yeah, and what is the easiest way to strip or clean the engine bay compartment? sandblasting, wirebrush, etc?? thanks!!!
stangirl92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 11:14 PM   #2
mustangII460
Factoy Five Roadster

Rebuilding a motor for regular duty.

I spend around $500.00 for the following bottom end work.

Block bored out, bored untill things are straight.

Rods re-sized, pistons installed and balanced.

Crank turned, polished and balanced.

Cam bearings installed also freeze plugs.
---------------------------------------------------
Heads etc.

I would just go with a regular R&R on the heads. Since your not going to building a nitro motor, no need for massive dollars.

Depending on how bad they are, cost varys.

Also I would go with a hardened valve seats if your going to drive it everyday. Older motors that used leaded gas had softer seats.
-----------------------------------------------------
It never hurts to ask everyone about the shop you are looking at. If it were my coin, I would spend the extra money at a performance shop. I trust them because they are less likely to let a half @$$ed motor get out their door.

There is no reason you can't put it together yourself. There are all kinds of good books out there.
-------------------------------------------------------

Cleaning engine bay.