MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 02-06-2002, 03:48 PM   #1
KG88GT
Registered Member

Question Cold air questions?

While I wait to do the gears in my 88GT, I want to do a cold air intake. Since I am new to mustangs where is the air flow meter or what ever it is called in Ford engines. I plan on getting a fender mounted cold air intake and was wondering how much messing with the air flow meter there will be. I would like recomendation on where to get the intakes, if there is someone better than someone like Summit.
Thanks
KG88GT
KG88GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2002, 05:14 PM   #2
SKYWLKR
Registered Member

well you have no MAF on your car.. its an 88.

I have the march Ram air and it kick ***. I pickup a full mph+ when it's on.

helps the 88GT run 13.30's with cat back,the Ram air and X-pipe only.

12.3@111.7 N/A
, 11.8@115 a ~60 shot.(#.47 jet)

92 Miata classic red 15.9@86 with exhaust only.

http://members.aol.com/jeauxmoe/index.html
SKYWLKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2002, 07:10 PM   #3
srv1
Get down.....

Exclamation

if your car is equipped with California emissions, then yes you have one. if not you have no mass air meter, just the tube.
Old 02-06-2002, 09:07 PM   #4
gtsr515
Registered Member

Since your new to the greatest automobile ever built, you need to understand this, 1986-1988 Mustangs were produced with a "Speed Density" type of computer, this set-up does not use a MAF, instead it uses other sensors to determine proper Air/Fuel ratio's and such, this is a "set" system.

The 89 and up stangs used the Mass Airflow Set-up, this allows for much better driveability and the ability to compensate for performance items.

For now, remove the "squirel box" or air silencer in the fender and get a nice K&N filter, put it in the fender later, as you need other items as well. hope this helps.