MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 07-29-2002, 08:39 PM   #1
Skywalkr57
Registered Member

Default home porting E7's

alright, my friend gave me his old E7's for my bday to port but im new at it. ive had them hot tanked and glass beaded. i want to put bigger valves in, maybe 1.94 1.60 im not really sure. should i port them, then get the machine work done for the valves? what should i be focusing on while doing the job, ive heard mostly exhaust side and getting rid of those bumps or whatever those things are can be beneficial too. i bought the holley systemax I package and put all that stuff in (as you can see from my list of mods) but im not getting the results i want. everyone is just telling me that the cam is too big for the stock heads. this is why i want to get this done. i just want to wake this thing up. i spent a ton of money this winter and didnt gain squat at the track. i went from a 14.4@ 95 to a 14.3@98. the first time is with headers, gears, pulleys, cold air. tell me what you think. by the way my cam has .220 duration and .512 lift. thanks
Holley systemax I, cold air induction, 76mm C&L MAF conversion, underdrive pulleys, 24# injectors, 190lph fuel pump, equal length shorty headers, off road h-pipe, force II catback, PRO 5.0 shifter, fuel pressure oil pressure & water temperature gauge, crane valve springs
Skywalkr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 09:00 PM   #2
FivepointOH
Registered Member

Is the holley systemax 1 the holley intake and cam? If so you really should have gotten the systemax 2.... the heads will really wake up your combo! I dont think you will see the results you want from porting stock heads although it will be better than what you have now.
92 AOD GT, K&N, ram air, pulleys, 2 ch. flowmasters, 4:10's, shift kit, 1 5/8 mac longtubes and offroad hpipe 14.249 @ 97.34