MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 03-30-2003, 12:18 AM   #1
gonnagetagt
Registered Member

Default How to adjust my clutch

I would like to state this ahead of time. I am new to Mustangs and stick cars, so if this seems like its a stupid question, I'm sorry but I'm a newbie.

My car has a Centerforce clutch installed in it and I have a problem. To get the clutch to fully disengage I have to push the clutch all the way to the floor extremely hard. If I don't do this the gears will grind trying to go into reverse. The same is true for the forward gears except I don't have to push quite as hard.

My question is, is there anyway to adjust the clutch? If so how do I do it and what is the best way to set it up. By setting it up I mean how far should I have to press the clutch to get it to disengage?

Can someone please help me? I think the only way to adjust the clutch is to have an adjustable clutch cable and a firewall cluch adjustment. Is this true? If so where is the best place to get the best deal. Thanks for any help

Last edited by gonnagetagt; 03-30-2003 at 09:07 PM..
gonnagetagt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 09:08 PM   #2
gonnagetagt
Registered Member

ttt
gonnagetagt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 09:59 AM   #3
drtbiker
Registered Member

Well basically it all depends if you have a aftermarket cable or the stock cable. It also depends if you have a stock quadrant compared to an aftermarket one.

1- if it is stock all you have to do is pull up under the clutch pedal and you should hear a click if you hear click then you are all set.

2- IF it has an aftermarket clutch cable on it you can adjust it underneath the car by the bellhousing. THere is a little cover where the cable goes into. Basically you take off the cover and then you can adjust it from there

later
raini