MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 06-02-2006, 09:59 AM   #1
83mustanggttop
Registered Member

Default Need cam and lifter Help!!

Hey...I'm new to mustangs...as a matter of fact i'm new to fords...anyways I'm going to pick up a 83 mustang gt w/ t-tops on monday, probably wouldn't even considered it but for 350 bucks..whats to lose...Aparently the guy who has it swaped out the original engine and put 302 out of a 1978 F-150 in it probably stock everything..from what i understand he transferred the intake manifold (elderbrock performer) and exhaust manifold and distributer from the old engine to this one..

Ok...the guy says the engine isn't pumping oil on one cylinder...the rocker is barely moving. Could be a lifter???
but seeing to how i don't know a whole lot about what's wrong with it cuz i haven't even heard it run i want to replace most of the vavletrain. but I DON'T WANT TO REPLACE THE HEADS.
I've been reading up on these forums and alot is said about E-cams??
are you talking about the crane energizer cams?
summit sells a competition cams K-kit.(high energy hydraulic cam,lifters,valve springs,steel retainers,valve locks, valve stem seals,high energy timing chain set, assembly lube, and instructions for $329.95. 1500-5500 rpm, 218/218 duration@.050"int./exh., with ,.456" of lift both ways..
would this cam work?????
i really love the way the cars sound with some cam lope, is there a cam that will do that for me in this stock head, auto gt.
I just want something that sounds good (plan on doing shorty's, x-pipe, and flows) and will lite up the tires. and something to drive to work so i can park my jacked up s10
83mustanggttop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 02:05 PM   #2
~The Jester~
Rat Killer

Default Re: Need cam and lifter Help!!