MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 11-01-2005, 09:26 PM   #1
Lethal5Oh
Registered Member

Default Rebuilding Trac locs

Heres the deal, 95 GT, doin 1 wheel wonders. Called the ford dealer and i can get a trac loc rebuild for 55 bucks. My question is, how much of a PIA is it to rebuild? I am a mechanic but ive never torn one apart. Is there any setup or is it just replacing parts? I dont have the money to replace the diff yet, so rebuilding is the only option. Thanks
'95 GT convert. K&N, C&L mass air meter, Performance distributors sreamin demon coil, dyna mod, live wires, king cobra clutch, flowmaster american thunder exhaust, UPR billet adjustable shift handle, Crane Cams Fireball HI-6 box,underdrive pullies, 255lph fuel pump, UPr short throw shifter, caster camber plates, 03 cobra lower A arms, bullit suspension, cobra front brakes
Lethal5Oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 10:07 PM   #2
ols0051
Registered Member

Default Re: Rebuilding Trac locs

The rebuild is easy. I got a new kit on ebay for maybe 35 bucks. Plus $6 for a bottle of fricton modifier. I had never done it before and found it to be pretty easy. I would just pull the diff right out, put it on a work bench,pull the s,clip than roll the spider gears out, replace each clutch pack and put back together. I'm sure someone will pipe in with better instructions. just keep track of all you pieces and were they go and you'll be OK.
ols0051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 10:15 PM   #3
Lethal5Oh
Registered Member

thanks for the reply. Makes me less worried about doing it. Itll be nice to burn both tires again. Plus having the traction back.