MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 07-31-2003, 11:16 PM   #1
pinale69
Registered Member

Default AOD to T5 conversion

Hi, I'm a newbie here and have a few questions that you guys can probably answer for me. I have a '90 LX 5.0 and I burned out that damn O/D band for the fourth time in 6 months and before it was under warranty from the place that rebuilt it, but now that its out of warranty I have to drive around without any o/d and with the 3.55 lsd I put on it revs pretty high on the freeway, so I want to just convert to 5 speed.
I found a junkyard that has a trans and bellhousing out of an early 90s 5.0 and a complete '88 2.3. So my plan is to pull the pedals, crossmember, shiftboot with the plastic peice and the connectors for the back-up lights and stuff out of the 2.3.
Now my question is, what else do I need (I know I need a flywheel and clutch, but I'll find that somewhere else) but, am I going to need the plate that goes between the motor and bellhousing? if so, will the one out on the 2.3 fit? will the crossmember from the 2.3 fit? Do I need the bolts that mount the bellhousing, or will the only ones from my AOD work? Will the clutch fork from the 2.3 fit?
I know this post is getting a bit long, and I'm sorry about that, but tomorrow I'm going with my old F150 to the junkyard to get everything, and I want to get everything I need in one shot.
One last thing, I put a ford motorsports aluminum driveshaft on a while back, will it fit? if not, is there a way to have it cut or welded to fit? and if that doesn't work, will the driveshaft off the 2.3 work?
thanks a bunch
Danny
pinale69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 10:41 PM   #2
Roket
Registered Member