MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 02-14-2001, 07:14 PM   #1
LOCASH
Registered Member

Post QUESTIONS ABOUT BUILDING MOTORS

Having a professional do it is not an option so here we go...How does this work? Do I tear it apart and measure everything to order the rebuild kit or do I order the rebuild kit and have everything machined to fit it? I see bearings with measurements but how do I know which ones I need? I would like to make a 306 but I am a bit confused. I have done all of my own mods but I have never built an engine before. Hope this isn't to general. Thanks in advance.

------------------
86 GT T-tops, AOD, B&M shift kit and hammer shifter, ROH wheels, K&N, Timing,MAC headers, 2.5 off road H, 2.5 American Thunder, 87 spindles, rear disc,SS lines, BBK 1.5, poly bushings, Steeda G-trac and subs, Strut bar.
"DRIVE LIKE YOU STOLE IT!"
LOCASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2001, 09:42 PM   #2
dinomite
The Dude

your saying you would pull your motor and then take it apart and rebuild it? If so, i think that you want to take it apart first to see if the block needs to be machined. Be prepared to pay some money for machine work though. Also, look into getting a book by Tom Monroe, he wrote two that i know of, "building small block fords" and "Engine Builder's handbook." I have the latter and it is VERY detaile (good).
dinomite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2001, 11:51 PM   #3
MiracleMax
Registered Member

So whats your rebuild budget LOCASH? Basic block prep wouldn't be more than 500 bucks (always seemed in the 300 range if I remeber correctly), but a bored/honed/aligned block does add to total cost, cause if the bores have to be bored then you'll need new pistons.