MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 05-20-2003, 09:40 PM   #1
blk88lx
Registered Member

Default leather upholstery

Hey all, thinking about installing leather. Any kits better than the others? This hard to do?
blk88lx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 06:23 AM   #2
ChunkFunky
Registered Member

My car came with leather, though when I bought it, they were all torn up and looked like crap... so I went to 50 RESTO and bought new covers... though I went with the VINYL covers, for two reasons. It's more durable and it's cheaper... but regardless if you go vynil or leather, it's not a hard job... take some time and you'll need a set of hog ring pliers and a bunch of rings but I did it myself and I have never done upholstery before and I think they look great... I can dig up some pictures if you care to see what the vinyl looks like.. it's looks like leather, mostly...
-=as
Old 05-21-2003, 06:23 PM   #3
lx5091
Registered Member

how many people are convinced that vinyl is more durable than leather?

'97 Saturn SL1--Soon to be ditched for a Ford!
lx5091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 06:46 PM   #4
ChunkFunky
Registered Member

I had vynil seats in my cutlass... after 30 years they still looked good, the stiching comes out but the actual VINYL was fine, the leather seats in my mustang and just about every car with leather will start to wear thin and crack...

I like the feel and look of leather as much as the next guy.. but i dont think it can make it for the long haul... though I bet the car will be toast before the new leather would wear out... in 10 years I doubt I'll even own the car... but whatever... you've got options..
-as
Old 05-21-2003, 06:54 PM   #5
blk88lx
Registered Member

Does it look like keather?
Old 05-21-2003, 08:21 PM   #6
ChunkFunky
Registered Member