MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 09-09-2001, 01:54 AM   #1
mustangbob19
Registered Member

Question Details on Timing

Everyone says it's a breeze but, what is the proper method for setting the timing? Please be specific I've never done it before. Also, what is a good timing light to buy?

Thanks

------------------
90 Mustang GT (hatchback)
3.55's, dyno-max exhaust,
Mac Cold Air Induction
mustangbob19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2001, 02:25 PM   #2
srv1
Get down.....

Exclamation

hey bob. the correct way is to disconnect the PIP jumper that is coming out of the harness by the distributor. they are yellow wires with a square block that plugs in the connector. disconnect it with the car off, start it, set your timing where you want it. turn it off, reconnect little square looking jumper, and start the car. there you have it.
a good timing light? depends what you want to do with it. example, you can get one with the advance knob on it for checking timing for indexed cams and other uses, or you can get a plain jane one. any of them are good. i have snap on, so that tells you right there that they are expensive. anyone will do, basically. hope i helped

------------------
90 LX Black on Black
Flowbabies, h-pipe, Mac unequal shorties, K&N, Hurst, subframes, Motorsport springs, MSD coil
srv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2001, 10:27 PM   #3
mustangbob19
Registered Member

thanks. anyone else?

------------------
90 Mustang GT (hatchback)
3.55's, dyno-max exhaust,
Mac Cold Air Induction
mustangbob19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2001, 09:14 AM   #4
95mustanggt
Registered Member

Lightbulb

I can't say that I know how to adjust the timing on a 90GT but on a 95GT it goes something like this: