MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Classic Mustangs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 08-07-2001, 10:36 PM   #1
66 Racer
Registered Member

Post Help tunning Holley 600

Hey,

I have a 289 V8 with a holley 600 cfm 4 bbl carb. Im no expert to tunning carbs, well no experience, but i want to learn. My carb needs tunning so I wanted to mess with it, any tips?

I used to tune little .12-.15 2 stroke engines with 3 needle carbs so i have some basic knowledge about carbs, i was good with those so im hoping i can transfer some of that knowledge and the "ear" for finding the optimum performance setting.

I have only been able to find 3 needles on my carb, im sure there are more on my carb, i found the idle needle which needed to be opened a bit, and then I also found two little screws/needles torwards the front of the carb on each end.

Any tips will be greatly appriciated. A general explanation on the effect of rich and lean on these engines would be good too. I worked with .12 engines off radio controlled cars which I believe are the opposite that 4 stroke V8 blocks, since leaner meant more power on them. They also ran about 20% nitro mixtures.

Thanks a lot, i enjoyed messing with carbs on those little 2 strokes and want to do the same on my stang!

---Anthony

------------------
Under Construction 66 Coupe
-289 V8 - 600cfm Holley -Tri-Y Headers - Flowmaster 2.5 dual exaust, Centerforce Clutch
66 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 07:59 AM   #2
David Fulford
Registered Member