MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 01-14-2002, 09:35 PM   #1
Chipdog
Registered Member

Question Swapping to a Cobra intake what will I need?

I won a cobra Intake on E-bay and was wondering what I will need for the swap. It will be coming with fel-pro 1262 intake gaskets will I need anything else? Are there any good web pages that have a step by step with pics?
Any Idea how much more HP I should get or will I not see it till I get heads. Ah heads someday I will get some

And a 9 pound Blow Job
Chipdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2002, 11:07 PM   #2
Bad89stang
Registered Member

Default Things to consider...

I am no expert, but I would use some RTV silicone around the corners between the lower and the heads. You may also want to consider gasgacinch to hold the gaskets in place. Make sure you clean all surfaces very well so that the gaskets make a good seal. Especially on the head surfaces. I am not sure of the HP gains that you will get without heads or cam, but I know that the advertised gains are with better heads and some other minor bolt on stuff.
Old 01-14-2002, 11:59 PM   #3
aar0s
Registered Member

i know when i put mine on my et went down and my trap was a lil faster but my motor was purrty much stock. you will need something to either connect or plug the coolent lines that goes to the spacer , cobra dont use it. i pluged mine with a 2 big screws but a buddy of mine went as far as fabing up a metal line that looked stock. some of that rtv silicone, a fuel line tool to dissconect the lines and be darn carefull with the injectors. might as well change the pvc valve. i went to the ford dealer and bought a new screen and gromet to boot.
aar0s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2002, 12:32 AM   #4
Mach 1
Registered Member