MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 03-09-2004, 06:37 PM   #1
whitepony
Registered Member

Default trac lock rebuild!!

ok guys/ gals i have a set of 3.73's waiting to be put in but i wanna rebuild the posi first but i was wanting to do it myself!
and what i wanna know is should i do it my self or take it to someone? i have never done one before just gears before
thanks
-mike
whitepony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2004, 09:50 PM   #2
stang_racer20
Registered Member

Are you talking like new clutch packs, etc. If so it's better left to a professional cause your gonna need a ton of specialty tools to rebuild it anyhow.
92 Mustang GT, 347 Stroker(Forged Steel Crank/Rods-Balanced, Forged Aluminum Dished Pistons), Trick Flow Track Heat Intake, Trick Flow Twisted Wedge Heads w/ Stage 3 port/polish, 80mm C&L MAF, FMS 30# Inj., BBK AFPR, Trick Flow Stage 2 Cam, Trick Flow 1.6R Rockers, BBK E.L. Headers, Flowmaster Cat-Back, MAC CAI, FMS Pulleys, Griffin Alum. Radiator, MSD Pro-Billet Distributor; AOD, Dynamic 3300 Lockup Converter, B & M Super Cooler, B&M Ratchet Shifter; 3:73 gears.
stang_racer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 04:34 PM   #3
fiveohpatrol
I'd rather be basketweaving

it's not hard at all to do, and you don't need any special tools. The only hard part is getting the s-spring back in, and that just takes a big hammer and some creativity.
Old 03-10-2004, 10:51 PM   #4
stang_racer20
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally posted by fiveohpatrol
it's not hard at all to do, and you don't need any special tools.
How do you figure?