MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Windsor Power
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 08-29-2002, 05:04 PM   #1
MadOnion
Registered Member

Default Auto or Stick?

I'm thinking about getting a late 80s Mustang GT Convertible (88-92 I suppose.) What would you suggest, a stick shift or an automatic?
I've never learned how to drive a stick shift, but I'm rather new to driving so I have time to learn.

Any reason to get one over auto ?
Old 08-29-2002, 05:40 PM   #2
Sonics2042
Registered Member

Well, I went with AOD (since it was my first car), but now I am in the process of converting to a manual.

The stick are MUCH faster when the cars are stock or relatively close to. The auto is very consistent (duh), but the stock manual is much faster than the stock AOD. If you replace the AOD and get a stall converter, then that's when you can get the AOD to start competing.

Also, even if the manual was just as slow as the AOD stock, I would still want the manual, because it makes it much more fun to drive.

The stock AOD kills your perf gains from mods. Trust me .

Thanks,
DoranW
[MAC Cold Air Intake]-[BBK Equal Shorties]
[3.55 Gears]-[Cobra Intake Manifold (Upper and Lower]
[E-303 Cam]-[Granetelli Mass Air Flow Sensor]
[Front and rear sway bars]-[New black carpet and seats.]
[Adjustable Fuel Regulator]-[T5 Conversion w/ K. Cobra Clutch/Hurst STS]
[Cobra Throttle Body]-[130A Alt. Conversion]

Thinking about:
Aftermarket Heads!
Vortech A-Trim
Sonics2042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 05:50 PM   #3
MadOnion
Registered Member

What does AOD stand for ?
Is it hard to learn how to drive a stick?
Does it getting annoying to have to shift all the time?

I would think stick would be more fun, but do they lose their shine after you've owned the car for awhile?
Old 08-29-2002, 05:55 PM   #4
VeNuM
Registered Member