MustangWorks.com - The Ford Mustang Power Source!

Go Back   MustangWorks.com : Ford Forums > Mustang & Ford Tech > Small Ponies
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Old 09-01-2003, 08:46 PM   #1
mustardjohn
Registered Member

Default Advice Needed II

Ok, The first post was not too interesting. Would things like a better Air filter, larger throttle body, larger Exhaust headers and Cat Back Exhaust system really make much difference on a 6 cly 2003 mustang? You could proably do all this for less than $1000 but would it make a noticable difference in performance? Or would you go in the direction of a new computer chip or something like that?
I am really new to this but I can tell you my 1998 Contour SVT seems to have a lot more get up and go with the Vortec 24 valve 6 cly than my 2003 Mustang 6 cly. That Contour really flies. I am looking for something I can do to get the Mustang more in line with type of performance. Any suggestions appreciated.
mustardjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 01:50 AM   #2
digital3.3

yeah all the stuff you listed above should help, just doing the intake and the exhaust had my stang running better. one guy to ask would be godstang he knows the newer 6s quite well.
Old 09-02-2003, 05:58 PM   #3
mustardjohn
Registered Member

Found a great site called 3.8mustang.com that is specfically for 6 cly Mustangs. I think I have found acouple of other similar sites. Good explanation of what you can and need to do to improve performance. Don't know if it will get me up to my Contour SVT level witht he 03 Mustang or not for a resonable price but good directions anyway
Old 09-04-2003, 07:52 AM   #4
GodStang
College Stanger